FAQ

It means adhering to a lifestyle that abstains from getting involved with products derived by harming animals and other living beings. This means a vegan excludes meat, dairy products, brands that test on animals.

While a vegetarian avoids meat consumption, they may still consume dairy, honey or egg. Vegans avoid all animal and dairy products from their diet and lifestyle. Vegans also avoid clothing materials like leather, wool, etc.

Vegans have several sources for their protein. A few sources include Soybeans, Sprouts, Tofu, Chickpeas, Seeds, Nuts and Lentils. There are workout protein shakes made from peas and brown rice!

An eggetarian follows an entirely vegetarian diet but consumes egg and foods made with egg.

This subset of veganism involves the consumption of raw foods. The diet usually involves fruits, vegetables, nuts, legumes and sprouts and food is cooked at temperatures less than 40C – 45C.

A vegan diet promotes weight loss, healthy gut, skin and overall wellness. Studies have also shown lower chances of few cancers, better management and treatment of diabetes, pain relief from arthritis.

Apart from saving animal lives, a vegan diet helps promote the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions caused by the meat and dairy industry. It is essential to know where your food comes to impact the environment positively.  Eating local produce and seasonal foods are better for the planet.

Vegan beauty products do not include animal byproducts and are cruelty-free. This means the ingredients do not have animal products, and the product are not tested on animals.

Routine testing of products (Cosmetics) on animals involve shaving their skin and applying chemicals directly to test skin irritation. Animals are also oral force-fed, and chemicals dripped into their eyes to understand long term effects on humans and health hazards. Many countries have banned this process.

 

Vegan fashion includes fashion accessories and clothing that did not cause harm to any animals in the making process. They are not tested on animals, nor are any animal parts used to develop the product.

Cruelty-free and vegan means that the product does not include any animal products, and no animals were harmed or tested on during the development of the product.

Not all cruelty-free products are vegan, cruelty-free usually means the product was not tested on animals. Vegan implies that no animal parts or byproducts were used as an ingredient.

 

If you consider the ethical aspect, the egg is not vegan. The industry that produces them follow exploitation and cruel practices. You are an ovo-vegetarian if you consume egg just as fish-eating vegetarians are considered pescatarian.

Free-range chickens are born under the same conditions as caged hens. Males are typically gassed within 15 minutes of hatching. Females have their beaks trimmed to stop them from pecking and pulling out feathers before they’re put into a space that allows them three feet squared of space each.

After 18 months, the chickens are typically taken to slaughter after profits are made from selling her eggs.

No, honey is not vegan. Bees work very hard to extract nectar and produce honey – their primary nutrition source. They store the honey and seal the hive to support their colony during winter month’ when there are fewer flowers. Beekeepers farm, smoke and kill bees during the process of extraction.

Vegan foods are foods that do not contain animal products such as meat, egg, dairy or honey. A vegan lifestyle can reduce an individual’s carbon footprint by 73%.

Vegan leather is synthetic leather made without animal skin.

Vegan meat is a plant-based substitute for animal meat. Mostly mimicking the texture, appearance and taste without causing harm and exploitation of animals. Vegan meat is known as mock meat, imitation meat, plant-based meat.

Vegan leather can be made from pineapple leaves, cork, apple peels, and recycled plastic.

A vegan diet excludes the consumption of animal byproducts like meat, dairy, honey and eggs. While some people follow a vegan diet for health benefits, veganism follows a vegan diet as part of the philosophy that rejects the commodity status of animals and their exploitation.

Vegan chicken or seitan is made from wheat gluten. Unlike tofu, seitan is chewy and high in protein. This versatile item can be flavoured in multiple ways.

Vegan butter is made from combining water with plant-derived oil such as olive, Avacado, coconut or a combination of oils. There is a large variety of vegan butter available in India, and they can be substituted for butter made from milk.

Vegan cheese is made from seeds, nuts, oils, nutritional yeast and starchy ingredients like tapioca and potatoes. The use of cashew, pine nut, peanut and almonds are very common.

Vegan cake is primarily made by substituting egg and dairy ingredients. Plant-based milk and butter along with flaxseed (for egg) is used for the preparation. There are plenty of vegan dessert options available in India.

It is very easy to maintain a vegan lifestyle in India. There are a variety of vegetarian options that can be vegan by excluding dairy, such as paneer and ghee.

Vegan Ghee, tofu, plant-based butter and cheese are widely available in stores and websites.

A vegan diet high on seasonal fruits, vegetables, lentils, and beans are economical in India. Most Indian vegetarian dishes that do not have paneer, curd, ghee or butter is vegan friendly. Parathas, chaats, snacks, bread, idlis, vadas, dosas, dal, vegetable curries, channa are usually vegan. Not eating out is key to being vegan on a budget.

A switch to a vegetarian diet and then eliminating dairy items is usually the easiest way to switch and stay committed to a vegan diet. Not purchasing leather products and switching to vegan beauty brands help transition with ease.

If you do not have control over the food being prepared, you could opt for a vegetarian food option. Since most small restaurants and kiosks try to cut cost, they use oil instead of ghee and butter while cooking.  Noodles, veg fried rice and vegetable rolls can be asked to be made with no butter, cheese or ghee.

A vegan diet does not automatically mean a healthy diet unless mindfully planned. Eating dishes made from chickpeas/channa, dal, brown rice, spinach, along fresh seasonal fruits and nuts can help you maintain a healthy balanced diet. Including zinc and b-12 supplements help you maintain a robust immune system. Get vitamin D straight from the source with a short walk during daylight.

 

Veganism is easier to follow in India. This can be credited to the vegetarian-friendly diet that already exists and the growth of brands that are creating dairy and meat substitutes from plant-based ingredients.

There are a lot of nutrition brands in India manufacturing vegan protein. The main ingredients are usually brown rice, soy, peas, chia seeds, flaxseeds. Some brands to consider are Oziva,  Plix, Olena,  Fast and Up.

Vegan substitutes are products that are plant-based alternatives for meat, dairy and animal products. These include vegan leather, plant-based milk, nut butter, vegan curd and ghee.

Mock meats and imitation meat come under substitutes for a non-vegetarian diet.  There are vegan leathers and materials used to make apparel and footwear.

An ethical vegan follows a vegan diet and extends the philosophy into other aspects of their life. Ethical vegans do not use products that are produced from animal, or it’s byproducts. They don’t support any industry that exploits or supports animal cruelty.

There are a variety of plant-based milk alternatives available in the market. Soy-milk, Almond milk, coconut milk, oat milk and rice milk are few alternatives that are available as alternatives for milk.

Apart from brands that sell mock meats, you could find recipes that use Tofu, Jackfruit, Tempeh, Seitan, Chickpeas and Cauliflower.

There are a number of Indian brands that sell vegan butter. Apart from vegan butter itself, some alternatives for butter are –
Sunflower oil, sesame oil, olive oil and vegetable oil for cooking. Coconut oil can be used for baking. For spreads you can use nut butters (almond butter, cashew nut butter and peanut butter), tahini, hummus and vegetable pates

A well-planned vegan diet can provide you with all the nutrients you need. Seitan (wheat meat), tofu, tempeh, chickpeas, green peas, lentils, soy milk, oats and hempseed are just some of the commonly found high protein plant foods that you can use instead of meat protein.

Tofu and tempeh, both soybean products, are great alternatives for breakfast eggs.

For baking, you can use apple sauce, smashed bananas, ground chia and flax seeds, nut butters (almond, cashew nut and peanut) or soy lecithin (a byproduct of soybean oil). Aquafaba,

the water from a can of chickpeas is a great substitute for egg whites.

There are a large number of brands that sell vegan cheese made either from nutritional yeast, soy, seeds, coconut, flour etc and you can get almost any kind of vegan cheese you want from brands like Angelo’s, Soft Spot, Millie’s Vegan Cheese, Bombay Cheese Company, Liv Yum Living Food Company and more.

Dairy products include food items such as yogurt, cheese and butter that have been made with animal milk. Instead of butter, you can use sunflower oil, olive oil and vegetable oil for cooking; coconut oil for baking; nut butters (almond butter, cashew nut butter and peanut butter), tahini, hummus and vegetable pates for spreads.

Vegan cheese is made either from soy, seeds, coconut, flour etc. Nutritional yeast is the most common replacement for cheese.

Soy yogurt (made from soy milk), almond milk yogurt, cashew based yogurt, oat milk yogurt and flax milk yogurt are great alternatives to dairy yogurt or curd that you can get from a number of vegan brands.

An ovo-vegetarian diet is one in which all animal-based products are excluded except for eggs.

From meat and poultry items to fish and dairy products, all are exempted.

A lacto-ovo vegetarian or ovo-lacto vegetarian, in contrast to ovo-vegetarian,are vegetarians that consume dairy products and eggs, but do not consume any other animal-based products.

Lactose intolerance is the inability to digest lactose, the main carbohydrate in dairy.

Lactose is a sugar molecule that is naturally present in milk. It is a common digestive problem that can result in diarrhoea, gas and bloating.

Lactose-free milk is milk that contains an enzyme called lactase. Lactase helps the digestive system break down lactose.

The final lactose-free milk has nearly the same taste, texture and nutrient profile as regular milk.